The Boy Downstairs

BBFC Ratingf-rated FilmThe Boy Downstairs

BOOK NOW
The Boy Downstairs
Certificate12A
Year2017
GenreComedy, Drama, Romance
DirectorSophie Brooks
LanguageEnglish
CountryUSA
Running Time1HR 31MINS
SeasonMain Programme

From writer-director Sophie Brooks, The Boy Downstairs is an original romantic comedy about a young woman forced to revisit a former relationship.

Zosia Mamet (Girls) exhibits winsome charm as Diana, navigating the rite of passage of every single New Yorker: the search for the perfect apartment. She seemingly finds a jewel of a home, until realising her downstairs neighbour is actually her ex, Ben (Matthew Shear), whose heart she broke when she left town. She decides to stick it out and keeps the apartment, but Diana’s close proximity to Ben means she must re-examine a love she thought was behind her.

In the vein of Frances Ha, Maggie’s Plan and Richard Linklater’s Before trilogy, The Boy Downstairs is a vibrant coming-of-age tale that examines the pitfalls of falling in love and growing up.

“An assured, laid-back debut and a good next move for Zosia Mamet.” – JOHN DEFORE, HOLLYWOOD REPORTER


YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

On Chesil Beach

Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird) and Billy Howle (Dunkirk) star in this adaptation of Ian McEwan’s acclaimed novel, about a newlywed couple whose honeymoon retreat becomes a comedy of sexual errors.

More Info

Screen/Print: I, Tonya

The Naughton Gallery, in association with UsFolk illustration agency, presents a free screening of the Oscar-winning I, Tonya.

More Info